Dobrun Monastery, in some sources known as Krusevo, is located in the picturesque mountainous region on the road Visegrad – Uzice, 12 km from Visegrad in the gorge of the Rzav River. It is dedicated to the Annunciation and it was erected in 1343 by prefect Pribil and his sons Stefan and Petar. The latter, in 1383, as monk Jovan, built and painted the narthex. The monastery was destroyed already in 1393, when the Turks invaded Bosnia for the first time. It was renewed by despot Stefan Lazarevic and princess Milica. Sometime between 18th and 19th century, the monastery was abandoned. There is no reliable data on the origin and early history of the monastery. It is known that, at one time, it was the head of the metropolitanate.
It was destroyed and rebuilt many times in its history. The greatest suffering of the monastery was during the Second World War, when the Germans used it as a weapons depot and when they pulled back in 1945 they destroyed it. It was rebuilt in 1946.
The monastery was completely vivid. The most famous and to this day preserved frescos are of emperor Dusan with his wife Jelena and son Uros as well as the fresco of the founder of the monastery, prefect Pribil, his sons and his son-in-law Stan.
In the rocks above the monastery, there is a cave whose entrance was built with tufa. Hermits, who came down to the monastery only during major holidays, lived in the cave.
For a long time, the monastery served only as the Dobrun church, and since 1993 monasticism has been renewed and it became an active Dobrun monastery once again. Within the monastery complex, there is the Museum of the First Serbian Uprising, a gallery and the Museum of the Dabrobosanska metropolitanate.